Columbus Education Association

Volume XLVII, No. 11

CEA's Endorsed Judicial Landidates

October 31, 2016

This Page of the Voice was intentionally left blank

Columbus Education Association 929 East Broad Street Columbus, Ohio 43205 (614) 253-4731 Fax: (614) 253-0465

This section of the Voice was intentionally left blank

Save the Date: MLK Awards Dinner

The 38th Annual CEA Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner is set for Thursday, Jan.12, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency Columbus. Throughout the evening we honor the memory of Dr. King, and we also present awards to individuals who exemplify the spirit of his work. Nominations are being accepted until 4:30 p.m. Nov. 14 for these awards. The mailing address for the nominations is CEA MIP Committee, 929 E. Broad St., Columbus, Ohio, 43215. Fax: (614) 253-0465. Nomination forms have been sent to each Senior Faculty Representative.

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award is given for distinguished service in the community in the areas of education, social justice or human and civil rights. Anyone except current employees of the Columbus City Schools is eligible to receive this award. Nominations may come from students, parents, teachers, community leaders and community residents.

The Helen Jenkins Davis Award is named in honor of the first black teacher hired by the Columbus City Schools. Mrs. Davis, who was hired in 1918, was also the first witness called in the 1976 school desegregation trial in Columbus. The Davis

Award is presented annually to a CEA member who has promoted social justice, diversity and human and civil rights.

Last year, we honored Pastor Frederick V. LaMarr of Family Missionary Baptist Church with the Dr. King Humanitarian Award and Language Arts teacher Yolanda M. Stewart, Ph.D., with the Davis Award.

This event always features a dynamic and internationally recognized keynote speaker. It is always well attended, so be sure to purchase tickets in advance. Tickets are \$30 per person, or \$240 for a table of eight.

Our FRs: The Vital Levy Link

Our Faculty Representatives recently attended one of the most important Legislative Assemblies (LA) of the school year: a briefing about Issue 57. It was the last official LA before the Nov. 8 election. This vital information is being shared with you during your building's Ten-Minute Meeting. If your building hasn't had one yet, check with your SFR when it will be. We thank our CEA representatives for ensuring you know what's happening, so we all can engage in the work of our Association: AIMS, Berwick Alt. K-8, Binns ES, Burroughs ES, CAHS, Centennial HS, Champion MS, Colerain ES, Columbus City Prep. For Girls, Columbus Gifted Academy, Columbus Scioto 6-12, Como ES, Cranbrook ES, East Columbus ES, Fairmoor ES, Fairwood ES, Georgian Heights ES, Hamilton STEM ES, Highland ES, Hubbard Mastery ES, Indian Springs ES, Johnson Park MS, Juvenile Detention Center, Linden STEM ES, Livingston K-6, Maize ES, Mifflin MS, Moler K-6, North Linden ES, Northland HS, Northtowne ES, Ohio Avenue ES, Parkmoor ES, Ridgeview MS, Southwood K-6, Stewart ES, Sullivant ES, Valleyview ES, Westgate ES, Winterset ES and Yorktown MS.

Thanks for Supporting Issue 57:

Thank you to the following CEA members for their generous donation in support of Issue 57: Dan Carter, Alan D'Aurora, S. Dieffenderfer, Claudia Eschelbach, Victoria Evans, Anita Flack, Megan Flowers, Julie Freeman, Amber Gilbert, Christine Hoell, John Hoell, Robin Lucas, Catherine Marschall, Lindsey Mathews, Laura Maxwell, Dennis Mulloy, Michael Mundew, Kate Penn, Kimberly Reiner, Christine Richards, Jai Scott, Michael Stinziano, John Thomas, Juliann Tilger, Katrisha Trenor, Sharon Unrau, Claudia Webb, Andrea Wensink, Mary Whitehead and Jennifer Zutterling.

You can still give to support our students and our schools:

- Donate to the Successful Schools Committee by going to https://yesforcolumbusschools.com/donate. Federal law states you must enter your employer. List Columbus City Schools (CEA) in the employer box.
- You can write a check made payable to "Successful Schools Committee" and mail to Successful Schools Committee, 208 E. State St., Columbus, Ohio 43215. Be sure to write Columbus City School (CEA) on the memo line of your check.

- The Spring 2017 Fee Waiver Applications will be in all buildings on Monday, October 31, 2016. The completed fee waiver application is due back to the Sixth Street Annex by Friday, Nov. 11, 2016 by 5 p.m. If you are a Priority 1 or a Priority 2 status, please be sure to include the proper documentation with your completed fee waiver application. Documentation is required with each fee waiver process. Your priority status will change without the proper documentation. Please call Norma Oldham, (614) 365-5039 or email her at: noldham@columbus.k12.oh.us if you have any questions.
- A special 2016 Fall Election will fill these positions:

 Middle School Governor At-Large #1 (to complete the unexpired term ending in 2017) and Middle School Governor At-Large #2 (full three-year term). Campaigning runs until Nov. 15. Votes will be tallied Nov. 16. In the event of a fall run-off election, campaigning will begin Nov. 17 and end Dec. 13. Voting begins Nov. 29 and ends Dec. 13; votes will be tallied Dec. 14. carefully and mail your completed