

# The Columbus Education Association's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner

# Helen Jenkins Davis Award

The Helen Jenkins Davis Award is presented by the Columbus Education Association and named in honor of the first Black teacher hired by the Columbus City Schools. The award will be presented at the Annual King Awards Dinner to a Columbus teacher who has worked to promote social justice, diversity and human and civil rights.

Helen Jenkins Davis was the first African-American educator hired by the Columbus City Schools District (1918). Helen Jenkins Davis, the daughter of a freed slave from Kentucky, resisted discrimination many times and served to promote human rights and equality until her death in 1987 at the age of 92.

To nominate an individual, follow the guidelines below and complete the attached nomination form. Supportive documents are permitted.

The annual banquet will be held on Thursday, January 15, 2015, prior to the observance of the Dr. King national holiday. Anyone wishing to attend may call CEA for tickets at (614) 253-4731.

### Award Guidelines

- *A. Purpose:* The Minority Involvement Program (MIP) Committee of the Columbus Education Association has established an award to honor one of our own members who has promoted social justice and diversity through teaching and service in Columbus City Schools or the Columbus community.
- *B. Award:* The presentation of the award will be made by the President of the Columbus Education Association at the Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner on Thursday, January 15, 2015. The award is named after one of our own members, Helen Jenkins Davis.
- *C. Eligibility:* Any member of the Columbus Education Association bargaining unit is eligible for this award. There shall be no time limit placed on the period within which specific achievements have been accomplished. The criteria for selecting an award winner, however, demands that the contributions be of significance.
- *D. Nominations:* Nominations will be accepted from CEA members, parents, business and community members, public officials and students. Nominations must be submitted to the CEA Office by 5 p.m., Monday, November 10, 2014, and should be sent to:

CEA MIP Committee 929 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43205 Fax (614) 253-0465

The members of the MIP Committee and CEA welcome your input to the selection of this year's recipient and extend an invitation for you to attend the banquet in January. Please call CEA at 253-4731 with any questions.

#### Past Recipients

2007 Dorothy G. Wilson 2011 Barbara Yarborough 2008 Cathy D. Nelson2012 Jimmie Beall

2009Carol Moyer22013Dr. Sybil Yvonne Brown2

2010 Sandra Y. Waters-Holley2014 Rhonda R. Johnson



### The Columbus Education Association's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Dinner Helen Jenkins Davis Annual Award

Nomination Form

Name of Nominee:							
Home Phone:	ne Phone: Work Phone:						
Person completing this	form:						
Home Phone:	Work Phone:						
Provide information reg worthy of this award.	<b>Corroborative Information</b> garding the nominee's specific accomplishments that you feel would establish her or him as beir (Attachments are permitted)						
List the nominee's occu	<b>Occupational &amp; Civic Information</b> pational and/or civic (community) involvement in activities, organizations, honors, etc. (Attachments are permitted)						
1.	References						
Name 2.	Phone						
Name	Phone						
Date received:(office	(deadline 5 p.m., Monday, November 10, 2014)						



## The Columbus Education Association's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award, presented by the Columbus Education Association, is the oldest award of its kind in Central Ohio. This is the 35th Anniversary of this award being presented on behalf of the teachers of Columbus City Schools. Our teachers are proud to commemorate Dr. King's life and to salute annually someone who has worked to keep his dream alive.

To nominate someone, read the guidelines below and complete the attached nomination form. Supportive documents or attachments are permitted.

The annual banquet will be held on Thursday, January 15, 2015, prior to the observance of the Dr. King national holiday. Anyone wishing to attend may call CEA for tickets.

#### Award Guidelines

- *A. Purpose:* The CEA Board of Governors has established the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award for distinguished service in the areas of community service, education or human and civil rights which has been rendered at the local, state or national level.
- **B.** Award: The presentation of a plaque will be made by the President of the Columbus Education Association at the Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award Banquet.
- *C. Eligibility:* Any individual may be nominated for this award except current employees of Columbus City Schools. There shall be no time limit placed upon the period within which specific achievements have been accomplished. The criteria for selecting an award winner, however, demands that such contributions be of sufficient quality and import as to cause the award to be viewed with respect and high esteem.
- *D. Nominations:* Nominations will be accepted from community members, including students, parents, businesspersons, teachers and public officials. Nominations must be submitted to the CEA Office by 5 p.m., Monday, November 10, 2014, and should be sent to:

CEA MIP Committee 929 East Broad Street Columbus, OH 43205 Fax (614) 253-4731

The members of the MIP Committee and CEA welcome your input to the selection of this year's recipient and extend an invitation for you to attend the banquet in January. Please call CEA at 253-4731 with any questions.

Past Recipients	1988 1989	Ben Espy Edna Lorena Bryce	1999	Yvonne Thomas & Rev. Dr. Sokoto Fulani	2011 2012	Kevin Boyce Rev. Dale Snyder &
<ul> <li>1980 David D. Hamlar</li> <li>1981 Loretta Heard &amp; Clifford Tyree</li> <li>1982 Watson Walker</li> <li>1983 Benson Wolman &amp; Jack Gibbs</li> <li>1984 Robert M. Duncan</li> <li>1985 Barbee William Durham</li> <li>1986 Amos H. Lynch, Sr.</li> <li>1987 Phale Hale</li> </ul>	1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998	Philip A. Locke & Angela Pace Janet Jackson Arthur J. Kobacker Jim Swearingen & Dexter Coleman Ray Miller Bernard Master Reginald C. Anglen Cynthia B. Dillard Les Wright	2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010	Ada Martin Timothy J. Clarke Claire L. Waters Samuel Gresham Jr. Michael B. Coleman Charleta B. Tavares Rep. Joyce Beatty Jerry Hammond Rev. Leon Troy Clarence Lumpkin Michelle Mills	2013 2014	Priscilla Tyson Napoleon A. Bell Dr. Charles Booth



# The Columbus Education Association's Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award

**Nomination Form** 

Name of Nominee:	
Address:	
	Work Phone:
City/State/ZIP:	
	Work Phone:
	Corroborative Information
Please provide information regarding the as being worthy of this award.	he nominee's specific accomplishments that you feel would establish her or him ( <i>Attachments are permitted</i> )
	Occupational & Civic Information and/or civic (community) involvement in activities, organizations, honors, etc. (Attachments are permitted)
1	References
1Name	Phone
2	Phone
Date received: (deadl	ine 5 p.m., Monday, November 10, 2014)

(office use)