CCS, others at Race to the Top starting line

The application period for Ohio’s public school districts and charter schools to join the state’s Race to the Top (RttT) application expired on Friday, Jan. 8.

The most recent list released by the Ohio Department of Education (ODE) contains the names of 483 traditional public school districts and charter schools as participating Local Education Agencies in the states RttT efforts.

As of January 12, ODE reported that less than half of Ohio’s 610 traditional public school districts had joined the states RttT application, compared to two-thirds of the states 332 charter schools.

Five of the eight school districts that comprise the Ohio 8 have signed on to the grant application. The Ohio 8
is a strategic alliance of the superintendents and teachers’ union leaders of the state’s eight largest urban districts. Ohio 8 RttT signatories include Akron, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Columbus and Toledo. Canton, Dayton and Youngstown City Schools declined to join the states application.

At the time The Voice went to press, 10 of Franklin County’s 16 school districts had joined. They include: Bexley,
Columbus, Dublin, Grandview Heights, Hilliard, Reynoldsburg, South-Western, Upper Arlington, Whitehall and Worthington.

Ohio could receive up to $400 million, if the state’s application is approved. By law, 50 percent of RttT monies will automatically be distributed to participating school districts based on their share of students who
qualify for free-and reduced-price lunch.