CEA recognizes supporters and retirees

Nearly 600 guests attended the 36th Annual CEA Awards & Retirement Banquet on Friday, May 18, at the Hilton Columbus at Easton. The event celebrates our retirees and others whose efforts have gone above and beyond the call of duty in Association work and support of public education.

Paula Garfield was honored with the Outstanding Member Award. Garfield, a special education teacher at Beechcroft HS, worked tirelessly for the repeal of Senate Bill 5. She collected more signatures for SB 5’s repeal than any other individual in the state of Ohio.

CEA Vice President Sally Oldham received the Builder of the Association Award. As a faculty representative, long-time member of the Board of Governors, PAR consulting teacher, CEA staff consultant and Vice President of CEA, Sally has fought tenaciously for the members of the Columbus Education Association throughout her entire career.

Distinguished Service Awards were presented to Jan Bell, Debby Huffman-Mirib and Michele Mays. Jan serves on the CEA Board of Governors representing District 1, is a teacher representative on the PAR Panel, a delegate to OEA and NEA and has served on numerous CEA committees. Debby has been a Faculty Representative, a delegate to OEA and NEA and Chair of the Bargaining Team since 2007. Michele has been a delegate to OEA and NEA, served as Secretary of CEA for many years, and, as Chair of the Elections Committee, is responsible for running Association elections.

The Friend of Education Award went to WCBE for its continuous support of Central Ohio’s cultural and educational landscape. The station is home to CEA’s “Teacher Talk,” hosted by Sue Misiak, a former CEA member. Sponsored by the CCS Board of Education, WCBE was cautioned in 2011 not to air episodes of “Teacher Talk” that dealt with SB 5. WCBE aired them anyway, adding a disclaimer before each episode to appease the legal department.

The Innovator in Education Award was presented to Dr. Valarie Kinloch of The Ohio State University’s College of Education and Human Ecology. Dr. Kinloch has been a vital partner with CEA through her efforts with the transformational service-learning project, “Bringing Learning to Life.” More than 60 CEA members and hundreds of CCS students have participated in the program over the last two years.

On behalf of the retirees of 2012, Dean Fowls (Northgate) presented a very surprised CEA President Rhonda Johnson with a class gift of $3,500. The funds will be used to award two scholarships at next year’s banquet. Fowls challenged future retirees to continue the tradition.

To see pictures from this event, go to CEA’s Flickr page at: http://bit.ly/cea2012awards.

Outstanding Faculty Representatives

Each year, the CEA District Governors select faculty representatives to be honored for their hard work and dedication during the year.

We salute the following FRs for their service:

2012 retirees
CEA congratulates all of our members who are retiring this spring. The following individuals were honored at the CEA Awards Banquet:

CEA scholarship recipients
For more than 30 years, CEA has honored and supported students with scholarships at the banquet. We congratulate this year’s winners and their CEA-member parents: